59 South Main Street, Suite H
Cleveland, Georgia 30528
Office: (706) 865 – 4141
Fax: (706) 219 -1512
Office Hours Monday thru Friday 8:30 - 5:00
White County Probate Court
Garrison Baker, Judge
The Probate Court is a court of limited jurisdiction responsible for the probate and administration of estates for White County residents. The Probate Court also handles misdemeanor traffic citations, game and fish violations, vital records, marriage licenses, firearms licenses, estates, guardianships of minors and incapacitated adults along with numerous miscellaneous duties. It is a court of record, so all documents filed here must be recorded in minute books and kept permanently available to the public. In addition, the probate court judge serves as the County Elections Superintendent, and as such, is responsible for conducting all elections held in White County.
The Probate Court of White County issues marriage licenses and maintains those records. We also issue certified and plain copies of marriage licenses and applications for all marriages that were applied for in White County.
Obtaining a marriage license:
◾Applicants must both appear in person to complete the application for a marriage license.
◾Applicants must be 18 years of age or older. (Certain circumstances permit underage applicants to obtain a marriage license. Call the White County Probate Court for additional information.)
◾A picture identification card is required for both applicants.
◾A divorce decree or death certificate from the former spouse is required from any applicant that has had a prior marriage.
◾At least one applicant has to be a resident of Georgia in order to apply for a marriage license in a county other than the county where the ceremony is to take place. If both applicants are nonresidents of Georgia, then the application must be made in the county where the marriage ceremony will take place.
Effective July 1, 2005 the fee for a marriage license will be:
◾$36.00 for couples with a certificate of pre-marriage counseling.
◾$76.00 for couples without a certificate of pre-marriage counseling.
◾Fees are payable by cash, check, or money order.
◾Certified copies are an additional $10.00 per copy.
◾After the ceremony, the license is to be returned to the issuing probate court, which will then record the license in the marriage docket. Certified copies of the license may then be issued by the court.
(Note: Pre-marital counseling must include at least six hours of instruction involving marital issues, which may include but not be limited to: (a) conflict management, (b) communication skills, (c) financial responsibilities, (d) child and parenting responsibilities; and (e) extended family roles. The program must have been completed within twelve months prior to the application and the couple must have undergone the premarital education together. To qualify, the premarital education must have been performed by: (a) a professional counselor, social worker, or marriage and family therapist; (b) a psychiatrist; (c) a psychologist; or (d) an active member of the clergy when in the course of his or her service as clergy, or the designee of such active member of the clergy, provided the designee is skilled and trained in premarital education.)
The Probate Court of White County issues firearms licenses to all qualified persons who are residents of White County, Georgia. The firearms license authorizes a person to carry a handgun on or about his or her person, openly or in certain concealed positions. These include in a shoulder or waist belt holster, hip grip, or similar device, handbag, purse, attaché case, briefcase or other closed container.
Requirements for Firearms Permit:
◾Must be 21 years of age
◾Must be a resident of White County, Georgia
◾Must submit a picture identification including the physical address
◾Must submit to a criminal background check before any license is issued
(If the applicant has been convicted of any drug charges, misdemeanor or felony, or if there are any convictions or pending charges under the Domestic Violence Act, then no firearm permit will be issued. Convicted felons and persons suffering from mental illness are also barred from receiving a permit to carry a concealed weapon. If you have questions regarding the various prohibitions for firearms licenses, you may discuss the issues in person with Probate Court personnel.
$74.75 payable by check, cash or money order to the Probate Court at the time of application.
The license, when approved, is valid for five years.
For additional information relating to the application for a Firearms Permit, please contact the White County Probate Court.
The White County Probate Court files, maintains, and issues all birth and death certificates that occur in White County Georgia.
Birth Certificates are not public record. There are a limited number of people who may apply to receive a certified copy of a birth certificate.
Acceptable persons include:
◾Any person listed on the birth certificate
◾Either natural parent (or adoptive parent) of the person on the birth certificate (must be listed on the birth record.)
◾Grandparents of person on the birth certificate
◾Siblings of the person on the birth certificate
◾Spouse of the person on the birth certificate
◾The applicant must have a valid picture identification card to obtain a certified copy of a birth certificate.
◾Death records are maintained in a docket available to the public.
◾Certificates are available for purchase by written request.
$25.00 for the first copy of a certificate and $5.00 for each additional copy of a certificate per visit. Fees are payable by cash, check or money order. An application listing general information must be filled out by the requester on both birth and death certificates when applying in person.
To request copies by mail:
◾You may request a birth or death certificate by mail by following these directions:
◾Complete a written request with the following information
Name as it appears on the birth certificate
Date of Birth
List your relationship to the person on the birth certificate (i.e. self, mother, father, etc.)
◾Enclose a self addressed stamped envelope
◾Number of certificates you are requesting
◾Enclose a local check or money order for the total amount of certificates you are requesting (fees listed above)
For additional information, please contact the White County Probate Court.