Georgia law requires that all auto tags be renewed within 30 days before the owner’s birthday. Tags expire at midnight on the birthday of the first person listed on the registration as owner. Renewals after this date will be subject to a 10% penalty on the ad valorem tax, 25% penalty on the tag fee. Georgia law requires collection of penalties and interest on ALL late registrations.
All residents who have obtained Georgia license plates during the current year should receive a renewal pre-bill the following year to renew the tag and pay the ad valorem taxes. If you do not receive your renewal by 30 days prior to your birthday, call 865-2225 and a prebill will be mailed to you, or if you come into the office one can be printed there for you. For fast, convenient service, mail your tag renewal and application or use our drive-thru located at 113 North Brooks Street Cleveland, GA 30528.
New residents must purchase a Georgia tag and/or decal within thirty (30) days after residence is established. Visitors who remain in the state for less than ninety (90) days, and out-of-state students are not required to register their vehicles in Georgia as long as they display a valid license plate from their home state, unless they accept employment or engage in any trade, profession, or occupation in the state, or enters his or her children in Georgia public schools. In this case they must purchase a Georgia tag and/or decal within 30 days after entering Georgia. If you are coming in from another state you must register in person at the White County Tax Commissioners office. Several different documents are required for this registration. Please contact our office at (706) 865-2225 to discuss.